Institute for Dance Medicine
Homepage Deutsche Website Imprint
 
 
Treating Caring Comprehending Institute Links Contact
Fit for Dance Logo  

The Institute

The Institute for Dance Medicine "Fit for Dance" is directed by Dr. Liane Simmel. She studied dance at the State Conservatory for Music and Theatre in Munich and with Merce Cunningham in New York, among others. Over 20 years she has been working as dancer and choreographer in theatres and freelance all over Europe.

Her interest in the way the body functions led her to study medicine. Today she runs her own practice in Munich as medical doctor specialized in Sports Medicine, Dance Medicine, Osteopathy, Spiraldynamic and Sportpsychology.

Publications References

She is medical consultant and lecturer for dance medicine at the University for Music and Theatre Munich, the Palucca University for Dance Dresden and the ZHdK Zurich. She is traveling all over Europe for workshops and lecture in the field of the dancers' health.

Dr. Liane Simmel is adviser founding member of tamed, Tanzmedizin Deutschland e.V., the German Dance Medicine Association and has been leading the organization as her president for over 15 years. As Medical Advicer of the Dance Medicine Organization Monacco she supports dance medicine internationaly. For her pioneering work in dance medicine she was awarded the prize of recognition of the German Dance Prize 2016.

Her book "Dance Medicine in Practice " is a bestseller on the German and English dance book market. Her new book “Nutrition for Dancers”, written together with Eva-Maria Kraft, was just published recently.

Institut für TanzMedizin
Home English Website Impressum
 
 
Fit for Dance Logo  

Das Institut für TanzMedizin

Dr. Liane Simmel ist Leiterin des Instituts für TanzMedizin "Fit for Dance". Sie studierte Tanz u. a. an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Musik und Theater in München sowie bei Merce Cunningham in New York. Über zwei Jahrzehnte arbeitete sie als Tänzerin und Choreographin an Theatern und in der freien Tanzszene.

Ihr Interesse für die Funktionsweise des Körpers führte sie zur Medizin. Noch während ihres Engagements am Theater begann sie Humanmedizin zu studieren. Heute ist Dr. Liane Simmel als approbierte Ärztin für Sportmedizin, Tanzmedizin, Osteopathie und Spiraldynamik sowie als Sportpsychologie Coach in eigener Praxis in München tätig.

Sie ist Medical Consultant und Lehrbeauftragte für Tanzmedizin an der Ballettakademie der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München sowie Mitglied des Lehrkörpers der Palucca Hochschule für Tanz Dresden und der Züricher Hochschule der Künste. Weltweit ist sie als Dozentin zu Themen rund um die Gesundheit im Tanz gefragt.

Dr. Liane Simmel ist Beirat und Gründungsmitglied von tamed, Tanzmedizin Deutschland e.V., der deutschsprachigen Gesundheitsorganisation für Tänzer, deren Aufbau und Entwicklung sie als Vorstand über 15 Jahre maßgeblich geprägt hat. Als Medical Advicer der Dance Medicine Organisation Monacco unterstützt sie die Tanzmedizin international. Für ihre Pionierarbeit in der Tanzmedizin wurde sie 2016 mit dem Anerkennungspreis des Deutschen Tanzpreises ausgezeichnet.

Ihr Buch „Tanzmedizin in der Praxis“ hat sich zu einem Standardwerk der Tanzmedizin im deutsch- und englischsprachigen Raum entwickelt. Ganz frisch auf dem Markt erschien ihr gemeinsam mit Eva-Maria Kraft verfasstes Buch „Ernährung für Tänzer“.

     
   
Publikationen Referenzen